Next Entry
Previous Entry
Sign my guestbook
My Profile
Archives 2001-06-17 - 1:27 a.m.


What an odd day. Nevermind. What an odd month...

Went to see my friend's newborn girl at the hospital today. Twenty-four hours of labour, five pounds, 13 inches. I've seen many newborns in my life, but this one's special. Out of all my high school and university friends, they were the first ones to have a baby. It was a happy, yet numbing feeling. The world has changed forever, and it will never be the same again. It's official; we're no longer kids now. We have lives and careers to fulfill, and there would no longer be wild and drunken stupors. I miss my youth, but it's time to move on.

She was a cutie, though. Feeling her soft and putty like skin was another experience altogether. Seeing my friend hold her was quite warming, although out of all the people I know, he always seemed like the one most lacking in fatherhood preparation. But his wife is a teacher though, which explains a lot.

But then we all change once in a while. He left his parties and the women chasing behind, settled down into a couple of nice careers, got a house, and got married at the same time. The only thing that he has kept from those days is his Porsche, which is altogether not a bad thing. So it's nice to see that he has gone on to bigger and better things, which makes me think...when is it going to be my turn? Do I even want to step up to the plate in the first place? I shudder at the thought of standing at an altar right now, never mind having children. But yet, my grade 12 art teacher always told me that I would make a great father. Someday, I'd like to see that bear fruit.

On a side note, his younger sister also had her engagement party today. That's even more disturbing, to tell you the truth. I mean, I still remember when she graduated elementary school, and she's always been the 'little' sister to me. Never stepped a foot wrong.

It's been quite the past two weeks. If I didn't know any better, I'd just pull up my pants and complain about the government full time. I feel old enough for that sort of thing now...

E-Mail Me
Back to Diaryland















* Yes, I designed and built this page with my own two hands.
Copy the code if you must, but please give me some credit.
(Because the Credit Card company won't.)