Next Entry
Previous Entry
Sign my guestbook
My Profile
Archives 2003-01-19 - 11:25 p.m.


So I took out my frustrations today, in my own quiet way.

Well, not so quiet, as the tires were squealing on the one lane blacktop barrelling down the hillside. The engine noise reverberated inside my ear, as I flung the hapless Corolla at breakneck speeds through the curves.

I looked down past the edge of the road, down into the gully, watching as the millimetres of tolerance passed beside the tires. The car was begging for help, I suppose, as everytime I pressed the gas, it would hesitate. Cough/choke/cackle, early 80's carburetted technology against a lunatic on a roll.

I'd try to break the tail loose with the gas to get some more speed into the corner, but it wouldn't do it. My tires are probably well beyond the limits of their adhesion, yet they stood firm in the face of my agression. Heel and toe downshifts, Scandinavian Flicks, I even shifted my weight sideways through the corners like I did with the go-karts. It wouldn't go any faster.

But I did it, smoking brakes and all, raving madly as I stopped at the foot of the hill. Never knew five hundred dollars worth of car could give me such a thrill...

E-Mail Me
Back to Diaryland















* Yes, I designed and built this page with my own two hands.
Copy the code if you must, but please give me some credit.
(Because the Credit Card company won't.)