Next Entry
Previous Entry
Sign my guestbook
My Profile
Archives 2002-06-11 - 6:50 p.m.


Oh the French, they disappoint me so.

I still remember, four years ago in July, I was on stopover in Singapore on my fateful trip to New Zealand. Suffering from heavy jet lag as I sat in my hotel room early in the dark morning, I decided to try my luck with the T.V.

I mean, if anything, I'd at least get to see some heavily censored boorish Singapore programming or something. That's entertainment enough when the only other option is to read the room service menu. "Oh wow, they serve western style omlettes. Who would have known."

But behold! From the sound coming out of the speakers as the tube was warming up, they're playing the Brazillian national anthem. I actually didn't miss the game, and as luck would have it, I got to Singapore just in time, it seems. What's more, I'm bloody awake too. Amazing.

During the match, I ended up having a couple of German backpackers sitting in my room with me, as we cheered the French on to their spectacular victory. "Vive Le France!" Boy, those really were the days...

Just now, as I watch Trezueget hit the crossbar, I couldn't help but think that it's just like everything else. The world is changing, and compared to four years ago, the world seemingly has flipped itself upside down like an omlette.

If I told myself what I'm doing now four years ago, I would have kicked myself in the nuts, just to see if it hurt (and therefore not dreaming). If I told myself four years ago that France would bow out in the first round of the World Cup, I might have castrated...well, probably not. Everything's hardly believable, but it all became true.

Anyway, at least them English are still around. Right...

E-Mail Me
Back to Diaryland















* Yes, I designed and built this page with my own two hands.
Copy the code if you must, but please give me some credit.
(Because the Credit Card company won't.)