Next Entry
Previous Entry
Sign my guestbook
My Profile
Archives 2002-02-22 - 6:52 p.m.


"The world isn't perfect, is it. So just suck it up, and stop being a baby."

Day 6

My mother has a way with words. But no matter.

Today, I found myself driving down to the old stomping grounds, just to see how it's changed. Even though I come back here often, somehow I never found the time to go back.

Gone is the little park that I used to run to, where the swings were low enough so that I can get on them myself. Passed by the elementary school I attended, and found the spot where I used to watch the schoolbuses drive by. I used to feel really happy if I got to ride on a schoolbus with freshly painted wheels, because, for some reason, I didn't like buses with grimy wheels.

But it's odd to see the little kids piling out of there now. Me, cigarette in hand, standing across the street from the school, looking like a middle aged paedophile. That old world of mine seems so close, yet so far away. I couldn't even remember the faces of my childhood friends, to the point where I almost questioned myself if I did have any friends at all.

Driving along, though, I remember the little grassy knoll where I used to go with my uncle, just to pass the time. There's a university residence there now, and the strange faces of bemused students trying to find their way around.

I had a great childhood, I think. So innocent, out of touch, and incredibly sheltered. I remember only the good things, and the occasional bad thing. But I feel rather happy to relive it, just because I may never have that experience again.

In another twenty years, I may be looking back at my time now instead. For example, I'd probably be reading this then, and laughing at my childish naviete...

E-Mail Me
Back to Diaryland















* Yes, I designed and built this page with my own two hands.
Copy the code if you must, but please give me some credit.
(Because the Credit Card company won't.)