Next Entry
Previous Entry
Sign my guestbook
My Profile
Archives 2002-01-18 - 2:52 a.m.


The sky was full of snow today.

And for some reason, my instructor and I liked to take incredible risks in order to 'improve my skills under intense pressure situations'.

The streamer was only about 20 miles long, and 4 miles wide. It just happened that it came right over the airport, and it just happened that we were flying into it while we were coming in. The snow was furious, even cars were crashing on the highway.

The visibility was down to 1/2 mile at best, as we came into land. The buffeting was unbearable, and the snow was entering through the cabin through the fresh air vent on top of the cockpit.

Just to cut it short, we were lucky. Very lucky. I rather not try that again, as we found out later that the snow was wet, meaning that icing was a grave possibility. If I had a film of less than 1/2 an inch of ice on the leading edge, we would have dropped like a stone.

I think I need a break. Now.

E-Mail Me
Back to Diaryland















* Yes, I designed and built this page with my own two hands.
Copy the code if you must, but please give me some credit.
(Because the Credit Card company won't.)