Next Entry
Previous Entry
Sign my guestbook
My Profile
Archives 2001-07-08 - 11:52 p.m.


Driving is one of my favourite pastimes. Not driving to work, but 'driving'. To nowhere, especially, when I feel a need to fill time.

Filling time is a necessary evil in our society today. We feel such a need to be doing something all the time, that it's hard to contemplate when there is nothing to do. You're restless, flipping through magazines and the T.V. alternately. Ultimately, you find both to be a bore, and you'll feel the need to get out of the house.

So out the house you go, walk outside, try to do some gardening, but it's too hot. The sweat from your brow is stinging your eyes, and you're left to wonder what alternatives there are besides manual labour in the sun. Hop in the car, roll the windows down, and off you go.

Similarly, I like to go on drives in the middle of the night, to end up a few hundred kilometres away from your house by the time morning comes. It's very much a soul searching exercise, as you drive deep into the night, the darkness encroaching on your headlights. Thoughts flow through your head, and one by one, they filter away. By the time you're home, you feel as if you've accomplished something. Nothing tangible, just the sense of renewal. Time to move on...

E-Mail Me
Back to Diaryland















* Yes, I designed and built this page with my own two hands.
Copy the code if you must, but please give me some credit.
(Because the Credit Card company won't.)